Friday, October 11, 2013

"Master of The Contemporary Short Story" Awarded Nobel Prize in Literature

Alice Munro, recipient of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2013.  Photo 
courtesy of The Economist.
The recipient of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2013 was announced on October 10, 2013, and for just the 13th time in its history (out of 110 awards presented) the prize went to a woman.

Alice Munro, 82, also the first short-story writer to receive the prestigious award, is known for her ability to provide readers a glimpse of themselves in the lives of her characters.  “Millions of readers pick up an Alice Munro story and react with a kind of galvanized self-recognition,” marveled Jane Smiley, a novelist and Man Booker Prize judge chairman, when she presented the Man Booker international prize to Munro in 2009.   The Economist  The Nobel prize committee referred to Munro, simply, as "master of the contemporary short story."  National Public Radio

The Nobel is given annually to "the person who shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction," according to the will of prize founder Alfred Nobel.  

Many of Munro's 14 books reside in the collections of the TWU Libraries, including Dear Life: Stories (2012), her self-proclaimed final work.

~Sandy Cochran

No comments:

Post a Comment